Week Two – GF/GF

Week 2 of GF/GF (grain free/gluten free). I continue to look for recipes that will help us stay on track and still taste good. My husband does miss the ‘old’ lunches and dinners, but is committed to eating to improve his diabetes. Within 3 days of GF/GF he was able to lower his blood glucose numbers dramatically and was able to reduce his dosage of insulin. This has really helped to keep him motivated, which is not an easy task. As for me, I have much more energy and am able to keep my arthritis symptoms at bay. This really helps keep me committed to this way of eating.

Having my weekly plan has been great. It is making grocery shopping easier and eliminates my 4:00 in the afternoon trying to figure out what’s for dinner panic.  My goal is to try at least one new recipe each week and remake my old favorites to stay gluten free. I only have one meal this week that will have gluten / grain and this is because I haven’t figured out a solution to tortillas. I make my own tortillas, however, because I can’t bring myself to buy the store bought version with nearly 20 ingredients – mine only have 4 ingredients, so this compromise is just fine occasionally.

We are lucky enough to have our own chickens for their eggs and get raw milk for making kefir that is used for smoothies, kefir cheese, and salad dressings. The added plus to the raw milk is the cream for our coffee….yum!  This week I will be making mozzarella from the milk for our pizza night!

Breakfasts don’t vary too much. For hubby: Eggs, either hardboiled or scrambled and nitrite/nitrate free bacon or sausage.  For me: Kefir smoothies blended with an egg and frozen fruit.

Lunches: leftover meat (chicken or beef) celery w/cream cheese or natural peanut butter, carrot sticks, almonds, apple or pear.

Meal Plan Monday (11/8 – 11/14/2010)

Monday –  Pan Seared Sirloin Steak, Zucchini Feta Pancakes w/mint & garlic creme fraiche sauce, sauteed mushrooms

Tuesday –  Crockpot Salsa Chicken, Homemade Tortillas, creme fraiche & avocados, green salad

Wednesday – Salmon Patties, steamed veggies, green salad w/sundried tomato vinaigrette

Thursday – Meat Loaf, acorn squash, green salad w/creamy Italian dressing

Friday –  crustless shrimp & crab quiche, green salad w/ vinaigrette

Saturday – homemade Gluten Free Pizza – with homemade mozzarella!

Sunday – either leftovers or breakfast dinner

Leave a comment

Filed under In the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

