Knitted Cotton Dishcloths

Nothing compares to a homemade cotton dishcloth. I am using a pattern I received from a friend probably 30 years ago and I have no idea where it originated from. I have tried a few different patterns over the years, but I always go back to this one. That is, until I came across directions for a 2 ply cotton one. (mine uses 4 ply) I didn’t have any 2 ply yarn, so I had the brilliant idea to separate my 4 ply. I had a partial skein and figured it would be enough to make one dishcloth. Well, 4 hours later and with the help of my son and husband, I got it separated. I don’t recommend this – it was a tangled, twisted challenge to say the least, but in an attempt to use what I had available, I made it work.  Once the yarn was separated, the actual knitting went very quickly and I like the weight of this dishcloth. It works equally well for wiping countertops or washing glasses.

Pattern #1     

                                                                   

 

 

 

Knitted Dishcloth (4 ply)

 

Need: 

1 ball or skein cotton yarn, 2.5 oz skein makes 2 cloths

#7 or #8 knitting needles

Directions:

Cast on 4 stitches

Row 1 – Knit

Row 2 – Knit 2, yarnover (YO), knit 2

Row 3 – Knit 2, YO, knit to end

Repeat row 3 until 47 stitches on needle

Decrease:

Knit 1, Knit 2 together, YO, knit 2 together, knit to end

continue until 4 stitches remain. Knit 2 together, knit 2 together, bind off.

Pattern #2

 

                                                  

  

 

Knitted Dishcloth (2 ply version)

Need:

#6 knitting needles

2 strand 100 % cotton yarn

Directions:

Cast on 37 stitches

Rows 1-4: Knit across

Row 5: Knit 3, purl across to last 3 stitches, Knit 3

Repeat rows 4 & 5 until size desired (I did 57 rows after the first 4 rows)

Last 4 rows (58-61): Knit across. Bind off.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Leave a Reply

