Beautiful Beans

Now that it is cooling down outside and we had ran out of canned beans, I decided that it was a good time to get out the canner, can some beans, and warm up the house a bit. I ended up canning black beans, pinto beans, and kidney beans.  I ended up with 5 quarts of kidney beans and 8 pints each of black and pinto beans. Next, I am planning on making and canning some baked beans. They are so easy to do and so cost conscious as well.

039 

Canning Dry Beans

This is the easiest process I have found, just a little prep time is all that is needed. The kidney beans need to soak for12 hours and the pinto and black beans need to soak for about 6 hours. 

2 lbs of pinto/black beans will be enough for 8 pints. 2 lbs of kidney beans will do 5 quarts or 10 pints. 

 Measure out 3/4 cup of beans for each pint  or 1 & 1/2 cups for each quart jar you want to can. Then wash and sort the beans.

When your beans are washed and sorted, measure 3/4 cup of beans into each pint jar (1 & 1/2 cups for quart jar). Fill the jars with water, cover with a towel and soak  for the times mentioned above.

When done soaking (the beans will fill about 3/4 of the jar at this point) empty the water from the jars and refill with hot water to leave 1 inch of head space.  I added 1/2 tsp salt in the pints and 1 tsp salt in the quarts, this is optional.  Note: You may need to adjust some beans in the jars. I noticed that the kidney beans got very compacted in the bottom of the jars, so after soaking I had to remove them completely from the jars and refill. If you want, you can save and heat the soaking water that was in the jars. This leaves more nutrients, however, it also leaves more bean gas. I use new water.  After the jars are filled, put a lid and ring on each jar according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

Place the jars in the Pressure Canner and process at 10 lbs pressure for 75 minutes for pints and 90 minutes for quarts.
By canning my own dry beans I saved quite a bit of money over a can bought from the store.  Here is just one of the cost breakdowns:
I spent $1.47 on my 2 lb bag of pinto beans, enough to make 8 pints of beans (18¢ per pint jar in beans). Lids are $1.49 for 12 (12¢ per lid). I had the jars so I didn’t factor them in this cost. So the pinto beans only cost me 30¢. These purchased at the store cost between .89 – 1.39 depending on the brand. Also, a pint of home canned beans is equal to at least two cans of store bought beans. You end up with a jar full of beans with little to no liquid – the store beans are a can of liquid with some beans floating around in it.
Leave a comment

Filed under In the Kitchen, Recipes

Leave a Reply

