Homemade Cleaning

 

Once I became aware of all the nasty ingredients that are in ALL of the cleaning products on the store shelves, I made a real effort to rid our house of all chemical cleaners. I use white vinegar and / or baking soda for nearly all my cleaning in the kitchen and bathroom. i will also use essential oils too, not just because they smell good, but because they add a natural antibacterial boost. Not only is it a tremendous cost savings over commercial products, it is nice to know I am creating a heathier environment.

 It may be a bit of the ‘mad’ scientist in me or because I don’t want to be so dependent on commercial consumerism, I think it is fun to create these cleaning products.

I learned of making laundry detergent and thought it was a great idea. I made a batch of the following liguid detergent and I LOVE IT! It was simple to make and it works just as well as the expensive store version. I haven’t done the exact math on this recipe, but I think it cost me less than $3.00 for the entire batch (without essential oil) – 10 gallons of detergent!  The only thing I will change in my next batch is to replace the Fels Naptha bar to either Ivory or Castille. I did not realize that the Fels Naptha is petroleum based (so much for chemical free) but I know for next time.

Homemade Liquid Laundry Soap- Front or top load machine- best value

4  Cups – hot tap water
1  Fels-Naptha soap bar
1 Cup – Arm & Hammer Super Washing Soda*
½ Cup Borax

– Grate bar of soap and add to saucepan with water. Stir continually over medium-low heat until soap dissolves and is melted.

-Fill a 5 gallon bucket half full of hot tap water. Add melted soap, washing soda and Borax. Stir well until all powder is dissolved. Fill bucket to top with more hot water. Stir, cover and let sit overnight to thicken.

-Stir and fill a used, clean, laundry soap dispenser half full with soap and then fill rest of way with water. Shake before each use. (will gel)

-Optional: You can add 10-15 drops of essential oil per 2 gallons. Add once soap has cooled. Ideas: lavender, rosemary, tea tree oil.

-Yield: Liquid soap recipe makes 10 gallons.

-Top Load Machine- 5/8 Cup per load (Approx. 180 loads)

-Front Load Machines- ¼ Cup per load (Approx. 640 loads)

*Arm & Hammer “Super Washing Soda” – in some stores or may be purchased online here (at Meijer.com). Baking Soda will not work, nor will Arm & Hammer Detergent – It must be sodium carbonate!!

2 Comments

Filed under Home

2 responses to “Homemade Cleaning

  1. Debbie

    Do you have a recipe for a powdered detergent?

Leave a Reply

