Scrubby Making

So today I began my declutter/organizing, maybe not wholeheartedly. I was actually searching for some material to make a scrubby pad for dishwashing. I knew I had some netting somewhere in my organized mess. I found it, so instead of cleaning (more of my procrastination) I decided to make my version of a scrubby. I searched the web for some ideas and found a simple one so I figured “no problem”, I surely have all the necessary items needed to make one. This is a crocheted scrubby and so I knew I had to have the size of crochet hook the instructions called for – I have many, many crochet hooks. I found 7 crochet hooks, 3 of the same size and 4 others – NOT THE ONE I NEEDED! This just reinforced the knowledge that I HAVE to be more organized – so much wasted money because in the past it was easier to buy new than search through my supplies.

This scubby is so simple to make and only took me maybe 30 minutes. The original version was made entirely of netting but I chose to do one side netting (tulle) and one side cotton yarn. I like the cotton on one side and netting on the other – dual purpose/wash cloth & scrubber in one….

Crocheted Scrubby  net side

 Materials: 

5 strips netting,  2″ wide x 117″ long – more strips if only using netting

Cotton Yarn, the kind used for making dishcloths

Crochet Hook size I/9

Rnd 1: Ch 4, 7 dc in 4th ch from hook, join to top of beg ch 3 (8 dc)

Rnd 2: Ch 3, dc in same st, 2 dc in ea dc around, join (16 dc)

Rnd 3: same as rnd 2 (32 dc)

Rnd 4: same as rnd 3 (64 dc)

Finish off.

Make 2 circles, one with nettting and one with the cotton yarn. Do not finish off 2nd circle.

Place two circle together with wrong sides facing, join with a row of single crochet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home

Leave a Reply

